Hallway Four

In my hospital, Hallway Four is where the crazy people go. This is a glimpse of their lives and mine.

Thank You and Goodbye

Posted by Amy on January 14, 2008

I have been blogging for a long time.  A few years at least.  And I have always enjoyed the release of it – I have appreciated having a place to come with my stories, stresses, victories, shames.  A place where I’m (somewhat) anonymous and where the people who read my blog can identify with what I’m saying or going through.  It’s been so helpful as a new physician to have this place and I’ll always be thankful that I did. 

Yes, did.  I’m going to call it quits.  Nothing bad has happened that has led me to this point, it just seems like the longer I work in the ER, the less I have to say about my job.  I don’t know what this means.  I still have good cases and amazing patients and funny stories, but for some reason I feel less and less inclined to write about them now than I did a year ago. 

In a few months, I’ll be giving birth to my babies and I know that they alone will keep me far too busy to stay current with the blog.  In the meantime, I’ll continue to use my spare time researching strollers and reading parenting books.  I’m excited and ready to begin something new and look forward to all that awaits.

To the few of you who still check in regularly (despite my very-irregular writing!) thank you for keeping my numbers up and making me feel loved with your comments and presence.  There are so many great ER blogs out there that I know I won’t be missed by many, although I’ll certainly miss all of you and getting to feel like I have something worthwhile to say. 



30 Responses to “Thank You and Goodbye”

  1. wealthandtaste said

    I’ll miss your blog… I’m a paramedic and your cases were always interesting and educational.

    Take care.

  2. Felix Kasza said

    Thanks — I enjoyed your stories. If or when you are bored, perhaps you’ll consider returning!

    All the best,

  3. Ryan said

    Can’t wait to see the twins blog.

  4. […] Thank You and Goodbye « Hallway Four […]

  5. GruntDoc said

    You will be missed. Please consider picking it back up someday, or guesting at another blog (like mine!).


  6. shadowfax said

    You’ll be missed. Good luck with those kids. Rumor has it they can keep one busy…



  7. Noel said

    Good luck, Amy. I’ve enjoyed your stories.

  8. Dana said

    Darn. Find another blog I enjoy enough to check regularly and it shuts down. I’ll miss it.

    Good luck with the kids!

  9. tori said

    I’ll miss you! I was looking forward to reliving the baby twin days through you. Good luck to you in everything you do (I sound sort of sappy like a greeting card, but I really mean it!)

  10. Dr. Val said

    I’ll miss you Amy. Thanks for your great blogging! Please take Allen up on his offer as a guest blogger at Grunt Doc. That’d be great…

  11. Oh no! Well, goodbye and good luck! Especially with the bambini! I know you’ll have a great and interesting time being a parent. Thanks for being such an interesting blogger–you were one of the first I ever read. I’ll certainly miss you.

  12. Graham said

    Congrats on the kids, Amy! Hopefully we’ll get a chance to meet sometime at ACEP or something. Always loved your posts.

  13. EEJ said

    Good luck with the twins, and in all of your future endeavors.

    I’ve really enjoyed the blog.

  14. charity doc said

    I’ll come back if you come back. ;)

  15. Dawn and Coleman said

    Oh Amy, I am sad that you will not be sharing your great stories but I am so happy for you and your new family. I have enjoyed your blog so much (especially since my picture was featured!) Wishing you a joyous and safe delivery and a happy happy life as a mother. Send my love to Kyle.

    Love Dawn

  16. Charity Doc,

    If I believed you, I would TOTALLY come back! I’d consider it my duty to the blogging community to bring you back in to the fold. But, alas, I suppose all good things must come to an end. So sad.

  17. Theo said

    All the best Amy.

  18. SeaSpray said

    God Bless you and your loved ones. :)

  19. Michael said

    I liken this to George Clooney (then Anthony Edwards, then Noah Wylie, etc) leaving ER. It will never be the same without you.

    It’s been fascinating to see in her writing what a close friend has become. The wisdom (medical and non), and the 2nd language you are now fluent in… I haven’t commented much but have always followed along, taking private enjoyment similar to someone who knew how good a band was long before they became famous.

    See you soon.

  20. scalpel said

    Best wishes for an easy pregnancy and healthy babies. You will be missed.

  21. anonymous said

    Sorry to be last to find out, but my laptop died and I’m on bed rest.

    I’ve greatly enjoyed your blog, wish you all the best (especially with the two little ones!) and can’t recommend ‘The Happiest Baby on the Block’ book enough.

    And thanks again for the pointer to the Urban Assault Race!

    Best wishes,

  22. Kal said

    I just FOUND you!
    You can’t do this to me…but perhaps you’d do me the honour of visiting my blog someday?

  23. Lisa said

    You’ll be missed…

  24. Cherie said

    I’m going to miss reading your blog. I admired your no nonsense approach, your work ethic, and your attitude. I emulateded you and felt like I could relate because I’m a female (and premed) so I looked up to you. Thanks for sharing your blog with the world and best wishes with your (very bright) future.

  25. 911doc said

    will miss you. please keep visiting us and layin’ down some smack at MDOD. when and if you restart your blog let me know and i’ll relink you.

  26. canoehead said

    Wait one stinking minute…the first day I find you is the last post? What’s the big idea?

    I love your blog, by the way.

  27. A2 said

    Wow! Who knew you’re such a celebrity! Look at all these people who read your blog!

  28. tori said

    I hope you get these comments emailed to you or else I am writing for nothing. I have been thinking about you lately and wondering how you and the babies are doing (you must have had them by now, right?) I hope everything is going well! Thinking of you!

  29. Amy said


    Thank you so much for writing. I do get the comments mailed to me, so we’re in luck! I had my baby girls by c-section on Monday (5 days ago) and have been home with them for two days. They are wonderful – I delivered at 38 wks and the girls weighed >6 lbs each.

    We’re now trying to settle in to the overwhelming lifestyle changes that have occurred in the last few days. Luckily, my husband is home to help for awhile and I still have 2 months before returning to work, so we should be okay.

    Thanks again for checking in!

  30. Doc Shazam said

    Hi Amy, Funny…I’ve said goodbye without saying it on my blog, but I think the need, motivation and time for blogging wanes with time. Recently I feel like I’ve moved through yet another phase of my professional career where I feel very comforatable with my work flow, diagnoses & treatments, unlike those first few years out of residency. As such, i’ve come to have more “brain time” to think and talk to patients about their stories in ways that I never could before.

    So maybe you’ll be back, maybe not, but just wanted to say hey.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

